Dead Space.

Firstly, Dead Space is a must play simply for the deeply moody immersion it offers. Play it with headphones and it’s right up there with System Shock 2. Voices whisper in German and Chinese in the soundtrack. Weird stuff.

I wouldn’t call it a survival horror game, though. There are save points everywhere, but it doesn’t detract from the fact that I get nervous approaching every new corner. The game throws some intense challenges at you.

The monsters continue to creep me out. “Shoot the limbs!” is the advice scrawled in blood on the wall at the beginning. The designers definitly took inspiration from Carpenter’s, “The Thing”, which is a good. These fuckers can be hard to kill, and they like to sneak up on you!

For a completely new IP, I’m impressed with the craftsmanship of the entire package. I find myself taking my time and savoring the details. I’ll addto this when I finish it. I hope they don’t fuck it up.

3 thoughts on “Dead Space.

  1. What chapter are you at Chad? I think I’m on chapter 7 or 8.

    I like the fact that the weapons are basically Sci Fi versions of a tool shed arsenal. And I was doing the cautious approach for awhile until my nerves couldn’t take it, so I start running. Of course that’s when something always hits me. 😛

  2. I wouldn’t mind them continuing this franchise. Its definitely a RE4 clone that’s more survival horror than RE4. I mean, its EA. Of course there’s gonna be sequels (if this does well at retail).

    Also, finished the game last night. God, I can breathe again. Starting up a New Game + to upgrade my arsenal.

Leave a Reply

