The bitter reality of the IPhone 3G.

So today, AT&T released their pricing plans for the new Iphone and I couldn’t be more disgusted.

Right now, I’m paying $40 for my minutes and $20 for my data and texting.  With tax, it comes out to about $73/month.  A sum I can handle.

Since the new Iphone is now subsidized by AT&T, they have to make their money somewhere, but they really fucked this one up.  Apple claims to want this phone to be mass-market, but AT&T has priced most people out.  The basic 450 minute plan costs a staggering $69.99 now!  Data in unlimited at $30, which is not a huge deal and texting is still ridiculous at $5 for 200 messages.

That means my monthly bill would increase by $40 a month if I make the plunge. 

Well, fuck that.  I’m sticking with the original Iphone for now and I might ditch the thing all together on principle, but I’ll let my anger subside first.

One thought on “The bitter reality of the IPhone 3G.

Leave a Reply

